Month: August 2007

  • Lemongrass

    Oooohhhh.... Lemongrass has launched the fall line, and it's got some goooood stuff on there!!  Follow the link above or this one and shop online.

    New stuff includes:

    • All-natural deodorants in Grapefruit Lily, Lavender, and Men's Private Reserve
    • Face kits for Normal, Oily, and Dry skin
    • Hydrating eye creme with cucumber extract
    • Almond Body Creme (Yum!)
    • Baby massage oil and "Bottoms up" Balm
    • Burgandy mint lip shimmer (tinted)

    And the foot fetish kits now come in vinyl bags rather than the black boxes.  If you've ordered a foot fetish kit from me and would like a vinyl bag, they're $4.  Just let me know, and I'll get one for ya.  Also, the foot scrub brush now has pumice on it, and you can buy that for $4 as well.


    For my check-in, I'm doing fine today. Still feeling good. Decided against a radiation treatment on my hip bone.  It was for pain control, but my pain is under control right now, and I'm not sure what radiation will do to me systemically.  So it's on the table, and I could do it, but I've decided not now.

    Now to enjoy an evening with my family...

  • Tuesday check-in

    • Still feeling good
    • In the office
    • Ate a "real" bowl of cereal for breakfast
    • Currently eating chicken tenders for lunch.
    • I have liquids here if I need them, but I'm trying to not need them while I'm at work.
    • Have a mystery appointment with the radiation oncologist tomorrow.
    • I'm hoping that if they want to do radiation again, it doesn't kick my tail like it did last time.
    • Especially since I'm working hard to prove my worth at work again.
    • Anne, I'm feeling a bit irrelevant in the office.  Estelle is here to do analysis, and they guys are the best coders for campaign support in the west.  I'm afraid they're running me out.  But we'll see.  I wish you were here for the ROSS debrief today.  I miss you madly.
    • I HAVE EYELASHES!!!  They're danged short, but they're there.  Kind of like the fuzzy hairs on my head.
    • Meleia had her first tough play practice last night, and came home stoked.  They choreographed "Hard Knock Life," and I guess it's a lot of fun.  I hope she realizes she has to SING while she does this fun dancin'.
    • Rohan has a crush on his art teacher.  I got to hear all about what she wore yesterday down to her nail polish.  And he doesn't remember her name.  Bless his little head.
    • Back to work.  Just checkin' in!

  • Monday Check-in

    Just letting you know that I'm feeling good and working from home.  Pain is fairly under control.  Brain is clear.  Life is pretty good for a Monday.

  • Friday-Sunday

    Well, it has been a rather tough weekend.  Yesterday was a wierd pain day, and today is cold sweats again.  I wore my bike shorts all night to help lessen the swelling in my stupid fat leg, and today, it hurts a lot in my abdomen.  It's the area where the tumor is.  I'm hoping it's not growing. 

    The boys are in my room watching the little league world series.  Fun.

    Oh well... Friday night, our church had a dinner/show with the Colorado Wranglers.  Aunt Nancy and I went just for the show, and it was really fun.  Cowboy music is always fun, and when they sang "The Mississippi Squirrel Revival," it made me laugh.  I don't think they were going to do that song, but Rohan ran over to one of the guys before the show and asked if they were going to, and they said that they would.

    I got to see some folks that I haven't gotten to see for a while.  Got a lot of hugs.  Poor Aunt Nancy hit the "panic" button when unlocking the car for me, so Paul said we didn't know her.  Just that we had hired her to drive.   But since on Friday, I went to work, chemo, and then to the cowboy show, I was pretty worn out yesterday.

    I had a lot of pain meds in my system yesterday.  It wasn't awful except that I tend to get into my spiral thinking when I'm over-tired or I hurt.  I took Ativan to stay on top of that, but it just added to the sleepy feeling.  Yesterday afternoon, my friend, Brenda, came and got the girls and took them home with her to prepare a few meals for the week.  She also bought them each a recipe box and they wrote down the recipes that they fixed.  Next time, they're supposed to make the shopping list, and she will take them shopping before they prepare.

    Paul and the boys went to see the Sky Sox play last night, and had a good time.  I'm glad when they're able to do that.

    Today, my abdomen is tender, and I don't feel much like moving.  And like I said, I've got the cold sweats.  Ick.  But the kids went to church, and I've just taken it easy today.  I'm going to get a little work done in a bit, but it has been good to take it easy without being groggy today.

    I have one question about meds.  How the heck am I supposed to take one of my meds on an empty stomach (2 hours before or 3 hours after a meal) when I'm also supposed to be on continuous tube feeds?  And my pain management doc said that I should take it because the steriod that he has me on can mess up my stomach (this is a stomach med).  Hhmmm....  I guess that's a question I need to be askin' someone, huh?

    My oldest child has the most interesting sense of fashion.  But she manages to pull off the wierdest combos!  Today, she was wearing a smock from the 1940's, a dress that my grandmother would have worn to do farmwork when she was a girl, over a cute t, with footless leggings, and a Gucci belt tying up the whole thing.  Seriously...  She pulls stuff like that off all the time.  At her age, there is no way I would have been willing to be "different," but she not only is, she sets trends by doing it.  Other kids will likely be dressing like that next Sunday.  She does it with her school uniforms, too.  I've never seen anyone get around the rules better.  She wears big chunky jewelry (no rule against it), spreads her collar way out (no rule against it), wears high heels (no rule against it).  I should take a picture of her every day for a week and just show y'all.  You'd be amazed at her.

    And on the topic of the fuzz that is growing on my head, Meleia came in and just started howling laughing today.  I evidently have one straight, long, gray hair that is sticking up from the curly brown stuff that's coming in.  She thought it was the funniest thing she'd ever seen.  If I weren't afraid that more would come with it, I'd ask her to pluck it I think.

  • Thursday

    Before you do anything else, if you didn't see this clip on GMA last week, watch it now.  It was the very best advice for friends of people who are going through a health crisis...  The advice given here is partially why I started the blog...

    http://abcnews.go.com/Video/playerIndex?id=3482063


    OK, so we've got 3 chemo treatements down, two to go.  And I'm so tired of getting them.  Isn't that awful?  I preferred the days that I had to go in for the whole stinkin' day but then was done for a while.  Going every day is just tiring.  And I really dislike chomping ice for 30 minutes, too.  I know that it's keeping the mouth sores away, but I used to be an ice chomper.  Never again.  My tongue just gets so sore and swollen.  Ick.

    But the nausea hasn't been bad at all, in fact, I've been eating just fine between the tube and actually eating.  And yes, I'm actually eating some. 

    It has been very nice to have Aunt Nancy here.  She's been helpful with getting everyone hither and yon.  The girls started school on Monday, and the boysies didn't start until today.  And today is only a half day.  To TracyE is coming down to hang with the boys this afternoon while I'm at chemo.

    I'm getting my hair back!!  It's brown and curly.  It's not photo worthy yet, but it is coming in.  It's very fine.  I'm just praying that I get enough back before he puts me on a different chemo that takes it away again! 

    Disney is totally paid for!!!  You guys, it's a miracle.  There is even souvinir money that was donated for the kids.  Not a lot, but some.

    Paul's job is going OK.  He's got 2 8th graders that he's about ready to strangle, but otherwise, it's all going well.  They had a tornado out that way last night, so I wonder if any of his kids were affected.

    Alright, I guess that's all for now.  I have some work work that needs to get done.  Don't guess that's going to happen unless I actually do it.

  • No bad news!

    We got no bad news today.  The cancer has not spread to my lungs, chest, or any other organ.  The large original tumor has not grown, but the smaller one has just a bit. Yep, no bad news.  The only iffy news was that the cancer has eroded the bone a bit more than last scan.  So, Dr. H is going to request that medicine whose name has left me that helps build up bone mass to keep the cancer out.  So, one more injection.  *Sigh*
     
    He was a bit unhappy that I had a pain crisis while he was gone, but was proud of his staff for getting onto everything with the palliative care docs, and just giving Dr. Y papers to sign to admit me to palliative care.
     
    So, we're going to do 2 more "treatments" of this chemo.  This week, and then a week 4 weeks from now.  After that, we'll do a scan and see where we're at.  We're praying that this scan shows no changes in the tumors at the very least.  At best, we'd love to see shrinkage.

    But no bad news.  We'll take no bad news!

  • No worries

    Hey everyone.  It's me.  I'm still working on getting the pain under control, but it's definitely getting better. Details will follow soon, I hope.  I'm just swamped with work after being out for a week, and the hospital doesn't have wifi for me to update from the chemo room.

    But I wanted you to know that Ciera does NOT KNOW about Disney!  My mom logged in, and got to the editor page on Xanga.  We asked Ciera to post her update, and then leave the computer.  We saved it, scrolled down, and let her come in to read it.  She knows something is up, but she doesn't know what.  We've told the kids that we're going to a cabin for fall break. They all still think we're going to Grand Lake.

    OK, have to work.  Outlook is going wonky on me this morning and not letting me respond to emails from work folks. Grr..

  • hello everyone.

    this is Ciera!

    Mama hasn't posted in awhile, sorry to worry everyone. She's been going through what the doctors have been calling a "pain crisis." Her pain was extremely apparent to everyone here at home, and it was pretty stressful that we couldn't do anything to relieve it; hopefully what's been supplied will work wonders. Her pain meds are getting to her via IV now, through the port in her chest. The nurses came to install and start the medicine going yesterday evening. Because the pain was so menacing before, she's not feeling completely herself yet, but she's at least doing a little better so far. Aunt Nancy is here all week, fresh in from Oklahoma, to help out wherever she's needed.

    Chemo is all next week, thanks for all your prayers! A friend from work suggested a dietary supplement last week that a few people thought would enhance the treament. Pray that they're right!

    Well, Meleia made the volleyball team at school... and proceeded to ("possibly") fracture her wrist at the second practice. The doctors have told her that she cannot play for the next 3 weeks...

    Thanks for everything you all have been to us through this! I read an awesome quote that completely describes what God is saying me, and everyone, throughout well, life...

    "as for the clouds, let them roll, roll on by. I've got the sky in the palm of my hand."

    ~ciera

  • Thursday Evening Update

    I just talked to Evie's mom.  The pain mgmt. nurse practitioner (who I am now in love with after talking to Evie's mom!) came out this afternoon.  He said the level of pain she has right now is absolutely UNACCEPTABLE!  PRAISE GOD!  So he ordered a pain pump which will hopefully bring Evie's pain level down to no more than a 2 at all times.  So there is light at the end of the pain tunnel!
     
    Ev's mom said hopefully Evie will feel better tomorrow and can possibly update herself and if she still doesn't feel like it, Mrs. Jan said she would call me back and give me more details to share.
     
    Please pray the pain WILL come under control.  And please pray a special blessing for the nurse practitioner for finally realizing Ev needed some help and making sure she gets that help!  I don't know his name, but Almighty God does!  So y'all pray a blessing for him!

  • Wednesday Evie Update

    Good morning, friends!  This is Amy giving an update.  I'm sure you've noticed there has not been an entry since last Wednesday.  I was beginning to get worried with no update here and no answers to e-mails.  So I contacted Ev's mom.

    Mrs. Jan let me know that Evie has had a difficult week (as you can always tell when she doesn't write).  She wouldn't let Dr. Huff tell her the CT results the day she got her transfusion last week - just didn't want to know.  She has been in tremendous pain this week.  She changed providers of her pain patch from Wal-Mart (larger patches) to King Soopers (smaller patches).  We found out they are not identical in the way they distribute the medication and the King Soopers generic brand doesn't touch her pain.  So, she made a trip to the hospital Monday for blood tests for hemoglobin and INR, and a new prescription for the Wal-Mart pain patches which she put on Monday afternoon.  She worked yesterday, but had a very difficult time. She got so behind on pain management that they're unsure what it will take to get her back on track.  Dr. Huff talked about a pain management consultation, but he is gone this week on his honeymoon.

    She is still in searing pain this morning.  The nurses are trying to arrange a pain management doctor to come to her house today.  If they can't work that out, a friend is going to take Evie to the cancer center to see Dr. Young (Dr. Huff's partner) in Dr. Huff's absence this week.

    Specific prayers this morning are for pain control.  Please be much in prayer for Evie's pain to become manageable immediately.  Pray they can get a doctor to come out to her instead of her having to endure further pain trying to get to the doctor.  When I find out more, I will let you all know.